Celebrating the Seven


The Sacraments

We believe the Sacraments are the fundamental ordinances of the Gospel, instituted by Jesus, the Christ as a special means of conveying Divine Grace, which are commonly called Sacraments, are Seven in number, namely Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist, Matrimony, Holy Orders, Reconciliation, and Anointing of the Sick.

Baptism is the rite of sprinkling, pouring or immersion with water, which symbolizes the washing away of the celebrant’s sins, and the death and rebirth of the celebrant.

Confirmation is the rite of anointing with Chrism and the laying on of hands by one possessing Apostolic Succession to impart the Holy Spirit to the celebrant.

The Eucharist, also known as the Lord’s Supper or Communion, was instituted by Jesus Christ at the Last Supper, and in the ecumenical spirit is to be shared with ALL who profess the Christian Faith.

Matrimony is the voluntary union of one man and one woman as husband and wife to become an image of the union between Christ and His Church.

Holy Orders is the ordination of a minister by the laying-on of hands, which imparts spiritual gifts. Bishops, who have an unbroken succession from the Apostles via the laying on of hands, consecrate and ordain the pastors and ministers chosen to serve in the Church. God’s mercy and grace are extended to all people, but everyone is not suited for the ministry.

Reconciliation is private or public confession and absolution.

Anointing of the Sick is the traditional rite for the healing of the sick.

The efficacy of the Sacraments depends upon the promise and appointment of God; nevertheless, they benefit only those who receive them worthily with faith, and with due preparation and disposition of mind. 

Close Menu